Skip to Main Content

Services for Faculty and Staff

Information Literacy Instruction Delivered via Canvas

Hello! The Instructional Library team at DACC is here to help you. We can do that by embedding a librarian and information literacy content into your course(s) in Canvas. 

To get started, please fill out our Library Instruction Request Form. Once we have connected and assigned a librarian to embed in your course, faculty can then add a user to their Canvas courses as a TA, Co-Teacher, Designer, or other role (just not as a Student).  To add a librarian to your course as a TA, please follow the directions below:

  • Click on People
  • Click on the +People button
  • Select the button next to Login ID
  • Enter the username (login id) in the field under Example:lsmithu,mfosteru
  • Select the Role
  • Click Next
  • Click Add Users

The Library has many ways to add our services and resources to your class within in Canvas. 

We Can: 

If you are having trouble with any of these instructions, please contact the library at library@dacc.nmsu.edu for further help.

Please note: 
(1) You must create an account with our video streaming platforms in order to create clips from a film.
(2) Students may be required to validate their DACC credentials before they can read the books and articles or see the videos.

Using the External Tool to add Library Resources to your Canvas Course 

The External Tool within Canvas allows you to create a direct link to many library resources, like databases and Research Guides.  This short video shows you exactly how to do this.

Adding a link to a resource listed in the DACC Library catalog

Sometimes you want your students to use a specific resource that the library has available, like a book, journal, or video.  This is very easy to do using the Library Catalog's PERMALINK feature.  A permalink is a permanent link to the Catalog item that can be pasted into an electronic syllabus or on a Canvas page.

Once you have identified the resource in the catalog, locate the PERMALINK in the Send to list of icons.   Click on the PERMALINK icon and copy the URL link to your syllabus or Canvas page.

Add a link to an electronic resource (journal article or eBook) via a database

Databases also have permalinks that can be embedded into your Canvas course or your electronic syllabus. 

For the EBSCO databases, the permalink icon is at the bottom of the Tools menu on the right-hand side. Clicking on the link will open the URL for you to copy.

Gale databases use a similar-looking icon, which is located on the top right-hand side of the page.  Click on the icon to get the URL to copy.

Add a link to a specific database

It is very easy to add a link to a specific DACC database.  Once you have located the database(s) you wish to include, there is a small icon to the right of the title.    Clicking on this icon will bring up the URL that you can copy and paste into your documents or Canvas course.

Embed a video

DACC Library subscribes to three video streaming services. Full videos and clips from two of them, Kanopy and Academic Video Online, can be linked or embedded within your Canvas course.  We have a recorded presentation about our online video platforms that includes a brief demonstration on how to share a video through links and embedding for Academic Video Online (timestamp 13:25).

Both vendors have support for clipping (Kanopy, Academic Video Online) and linking/embedding (Kanopy, Academic Video Online) videos.  NMSU also has a Research Guide with instructions on how to embed full videos and clips from Kanopy in Canvas.