HIST 201G

Examines U.S. History from before European Contact through Reconstruction, while focusing on the people and their history. Learning Objectives at the beginning of each chapter help students to understand what they will learn in each chapter. Before You Move On sections at the end of each main section are designed to encourage students to reflect on important concepts and test their knowledge as they read. In addition, each chapter includes Critical Thinking Exercises that ask the student to deeply explore chapter content, Key Terms, and a Chronology of events. Free to download.

The only multivolume encyclopedia covering all aspects of North American colonial warfare, with special attention paid to the social, political, cultural, and economic affairs that were affected by the conflicts.

This definitive scholarly reference on the American Revolution-written by acclaimed researchers and military experts from around the world-covers the causes, course, and consequences of the war and the political, social, and military origins of the nation.

Traces the development of the ideas, customs, and institutions that constitute the American cultural identity through 670 articles by specialists in history, law, religion, literature, art, music, African American studies, women's studies, and science and technology.

Entries from previous editions have been updated and revised in light of historical developments and current scholarship, and more than 800 new entries cover recent events and topics not covered previously. For the first time, illustrations and maps are incorporated into the main body of the work; a collection of primary source documents appears in Volume 9.

Offers a historiographic overview of the scholarship, with special attention to the major studies and debates that have shaped the field, and an assessment of where it is currently headed. 30 essays explore the history of American culture at all analytic levels. Provides both a chronological and thematic approach: topics range from British America in the Eighteenth Century to the modern day globalization of American Culture; thematic approaches include gender and sexuality and popular culture.

Twenty-seven scholars, all specialists in their own thematic areas, examine the key debates and historiography. A thematic and chronological organization brings together the major time periods, politics, the Civil War, economy, and social and cultural history of the nineteenth century. Written with the general reader in mind, each essay surveys the historical research, the emerging concerns, and assesses the future direction of scholarship. Complete coverage of all the major themes and current debates in nineteenth-century US history assessing the state of the scholarship and future concerns.

Is a collection of original and authoritative essays arranged thematically and topically, covering a wide range of subjects from the seventeenth century to the present day. Analyzes the major sources and the most influential books and articles in the field. Includes discussions of globalization, region, migration, gender, class, and social forces that make up the broad cultural fabric of African American history.

Twenty-five original essays by leading scholars in the field, both American Indian and non-American Indian, bring an exciting modern perspective to Native American histories that were at one time related exclusively by Euro-American settlers. Covers the breadth of American Indian history, including contacts with settlers, religion, family, economy, law, education, gender issues, and culture. Surveys and evaluates the best scholarship on every important era and topic. Summarizes current debates and anticipates future concerns.

This collection of twenty-four original essays by leading scholars in American women's history highlights important scholarship on the key debates and future directions for research. Covers the breadth of American Women's history, including the colonial family, marriage, health, sexuality, education, immigration, work, consumer culture, and feminism.

A single guide to the themes, events, and concepts of this major turning point in early American history. Contains coverage before, during, and after the war, as well as the effect of the revolution on a global scale. Contains 90 articles in all, including guides to further reading and a detailed chronological table. Discusses the status and experiences of women, Native Americans, and African Americans, and aspects of social and daily life during this period. Concludes with a section on concepts to put the morality of early America in today's context.

Addresses the key topics and themes of the Civil War era, with 23 original essays by top scholars in the field. An authoritative volume that surveys the history and historiography of the U.S. Civil War and Reconstruction. Analyzes the major sources and the most influential books and articles in the field .Includes discussions on scholarly advances in U.S. Civil War history.

Captures the people, institutions, ideas, and events of the first three hundred years of American history. While it focuses on the thirteen British colonies stretching along the Atlantic, Colonial America sets this history in its larger contexts. Entries also cover Canada, the American Southwest and Mexico, and the Caribbean and Atlantic world directly impacting the history of the thirteen colonies. Explores the complete early history of what would become the United States, including portraits of Native American life in the immediate pre-contact period, early Spanish exploration, and the first settlements by Spanish, French, Dutch, Swedish, and English colonists. Includes thematic essays on major issues and topics; detailed A-Z entries on hundreds of people, institutions, events, and ideas; thematic and regional chronologies; hundreds of illustrations; primary documents; and a glossary and multiple indexes.

This 6 page guide includes the full declaration with footnotes, but also details surrounding the writing of the document. Includes: Annotated Full Text; Jefferson's Draft Statement on the Slave Trade; Timeline of Events; Brief Biographies of the 56 Signers; Local Declarations Affirming the Call; and Global Declarations Inspired by the Declaration of Independence.