Chemistry

An open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and a chemical information resource. Mostly provides information on small molecules, but also covers larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. Information provided: chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and more.

Properties database with datasheets for more than 140,000 engineering materials: metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and more. Free to search and use, but you must register for an account. Has outside advertising.

A free, web search system that provides access to the structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases. ChemIDplus also has structure searching and direct links to resources at NLM, federal agencies, U.S states, and scientific sites. The database contains more than 400,000 chemical records, of which over 300,000 include chemical structures.

A free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 67 million structures, properties, and associated information. Produced by the Royal Society of Chemistry.

A safety data sheet, or SDS, is a standardized document that contains occupational safety and health data. The International Hazard Communication Standard (HCS) mandates that chemical manufacturers must communicate a chemical’s hazard information to chemical handlers by providing a Safety Data Sheet. SDS's typically contain chemical properties, health and environmental hazards, protective measures, as well as safety precautions for storing, handling, and transporting chemicals.