Call Us: 575-528-7260 or 575-527-7555
Text Us: 575-708-6489
Email us: library@dacc.nmsu.edu
or Make an Appointment with a Librarian
What are they and how to use them
Use reference books to get quick specific facts or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks. These can be online or in print.
Content: Offers full-text access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference books, including resources on art, history, law, medicine, psychology, and technology. Features images, sound files, animations, videos, dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations, atlases, and subject-specific titles.
Purpose: Supports research and learning across various disciplines with a comprehensive collection of authoritative reference materials and multimedia resources.
Content: A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research, featuring eBooks published within the last 15 years, including some juvenile nonfiction eBooks.
Purpose: Supports multidisciplinary research by providing access to a wide range of up-to-date eBooks, including reference materials and nonfiction resources for young readers.
Content: Includes Encyclopædia Britannica articles, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, eBooks, magazines, periodicals, videos, images, and curated quality websites, along with other research tools.
Purpose: Provides reliable, comprehensive resources to support academic research and learning across a wide range of disciplines.
Content: An authoritative resource on the English language, offering detailed information on the meaning, history, and usage of 500,000 words and phrases from across the English-speaking world, past and present.
Purpose: Serves as an essential reference for understanding the evolution, etymology, and contextual usage of English words, supporting academic research, writing, and language studies.
Check Me Out from the DACC Library
As part of the NMSU System, the DACC Library Search Everything Box searches all 4 libraries for print books--NMSU, DACC, Alamogordo, and Grants. If you find a physical book you like, but it is not at your library, you simply "request" it. You must be signed in to see this option.
The item will then be sent to the library of your choice so you can borrow it for 3 weeks with up to 2 renewals. And you can return physical library materials to any library in the system.
Access Me from the DACC Library Website
eBooks can also be found in the DACC Library's Search Everything Box, you must be signed in to see the full-text, but unlike print books, you must be a DACC student to access DACC electronic materials. And the same goes for the other 3 libraries in the NMSU system. Below are some print books and ebooks accessible to DACC students via the DACC Library Search Everything Box. And you can search for more from the library homepage.
Encyclopedia of Chemistry by 
Understanding Chemistry by 
Chemistry 2e by 
Chemistry: Atoms First 2e by 