DACC Library: Mathematics: Math Help

Math Help

In addition to DACC’s Academic Readiness Center, these library databases provide Mathematics assistance and tutoring:

LearningExpress: Core Math and Science Skills
Content: Offers tutorials, eBooks, and practice tests for developmental math, algebra, geometry, introductory statistics and probability, pre-calculus, calculus, chemistry, biology, and physics.
Purpose: Supports users in strengthening core math and science skills with comprehensive resources for a wide range of topics, from basic math to advanced sciences.
LearningExpress: Recursos Para Hispanohablantes
Content: Offers learning, career, and citizenship tools in Spanish, including educational resources, career preparation, and citizenship practice materials. Ofrece herramientas de aprendizaje, carrera y ciudadanía en español, incluyendo recursos educativos, preparación profesional y materiales de práctica para la ciudadanía.
Purpose: Supports Spanish-speaking users by providing accessible resources to improve academic skills, advance careers, and prepare for U.S. citizenship. Ofrece herramientas de aprendizaje, carrera y ciudadanía en español, incluyendo recursos educativos, preparación profesional y materiales de práctica para la ciudadanía.

These short guides are like cheat sheets with the most important concepts you need to know:

Math Review by QuickStudy Reference Guides
Publication Date: 2012
6-page guide includes: Set Theory; Properties of Real Numbers; Sets of Numbers; Operations of Real Numbers; Decimals, Integers; Percent, Ratio, and Proportion; Fractions, Probability, Mixed Numbers and Improper Functions, Measurement, Percent Applications, Statistics and Data, Algebra.
Pre-Algebra Quizzer by Barcharts, Inc.
Publication Date: 2011
Includes key definitions and sample problems to fully detailed charts and diagrams; a set of questions and answers on the back that quiz you on what you've studied so far.
Elementary Algebra by QuickStudy Reference Guides
Publication Date: 2020
6 page reference guide includes: Integers & Exponents; Integers, Exponents, Order of Operations; Expressions, Equations, & Inequalities; Types of Expressions, Translating Expressions,Simplifying Expressions with Like Terms, Linear Equations, Linear Inequalities; Relations & Functions: Define Relations, Finding Domain & Range, Four Ways to Represent a Relation, Identifying Functions, Function Notation, Functions Operations with Functions Graphing Linear Functions; Rational Expressions & Equations; Simplifying Rational Expressions, Operations with Rational Expressions, Solving Rational Equations; Radicals: Finding Square Roots, Finding Odd & Even k-th Roots, Operations with Radicals; Polynomials: Identifying by Terms, Operations, Factoring; Solve Quadratic Equations: Factoring, Graphing, Square Roots, Completing the Square, Quadratic Formula.
Algebra Fundamentals Quizzer by Peggy Warren/ QuickStudy Reference Guides
Publication Date: 2011
6-page guide includes: What Is Algebra?, Real Number System, Basic Algebra Terms, Exponents, Functions, Patterns & Sequences, Polynomials, Operations with Radicals, Coordinate Plane & Slope, Operations with Algebraic Fractions, Quadratic Equations, Systems of Linear Equations, Algebra Fundamentals - 100+ Questions & Answers.
College Algebra by Ken Yablonsky/ QuickStudy Reference Guides
Publication Date: 2013
6-page guide includes: Sets of Numbers, Solving Equations, Solving Inequalities, Linear Equations in Two Variables, Solving Systems of Equations, Functions, Polynomials, Solving Quadratic Equations, Rational Expressions & Equations, Exponents & Logarithms, Conic Sections.
College Algebra Equations and Answers by Ken Yablonski/ QuickStudy Reference Guides
Publication Date: 2018
6 page guide includes: Sets of Numbers; Equations & Inequalities; Functions.
Intermediate Algebra by QuickStudy Reference Guides
Publication Date: 2020
6 page guide includes: Relations & Functions; Rational & Radical Expressions; Polynomials; Solving Equations & Inequalities; Other Topics in Intermediate Algebra: Complex Numbers, Pythagorean Theorem, Variation, Coordinate Geometry.
Algebraic Equations (6 pages) by QuickStudy Reference Guides
Publication Date: 2014
This guide outlines basic algebraic equations, formulas, properties & operations.
Geometry Part 1: QuickStudy Reference Guide (6 pages) by BarCharts, Inc.
Publication Date: 2017
Includes definitions, formulas, and theorums.
Trigonometry: QuickStudy Reference Guide (6 pages) by BarCharts, Inc.
Publication Date: 2002
Strengthen your trigonometry skills and grades with this powerful and simple tool for reviewing and referencing the most important core concepts.
Pre-Calculus: QuickStudy Reference Guide (6 pages) by BarCharts, Inc.
Publication Date: 2015
The core essentials can be used along with your text and lectures, as a review before testing, or as a memory companion that keeps key answers always at your fingertips.
Pre-Calculus Equations and Answers: QuickStudy Reference Guide by Expolog, LLC; Ken Yablonski
Publication Date: 2018
6 page guide includes: Functions & Their Graphs; Linear Functions; Polynomial Functions; Quadratic Functions; Rational Functions; Exponential Functions; Logarithmic Functions; Inverse Functions; Parent Functions; Transformations of Functions; Trigonometry; Right Triangle; Trigonometry Degrees & Radians; Trigonometric Functions & the Unit Circle; Graphs of Trigonometric Functions; Vectors; Parametric Equations; Polar Coordinates & Complex Numbers; Conic Sections; Introduction to Calculus; Limit of a Function; and Derivatives.
Calculus Methods: QuickStudy Reference Guide by Expolog, LLC; Ken Yablonski
Publication Date: 2017
6-page guide includes: Limits & Differentiation; Limits & Continuity; Derivatives; Differential Equations; Implicit Differentiation; Approximations & Differential; Calculus of Functions of Two Variables; Integration; Interpretation of Integrals; Integration Formulas & Techniques; Power Series - Applications; Optimization Problems; Curve Sketching; Probability; Motion; Business & Economics; Exponential Models - Prerequisite Skills; Linear & Quadratic Functions; Exponential Functions & Logarithms; and Trigonometric Functions - Geometric Formulas.
Calculus Equations and Answers by S. B. Kizlik/ Quickstudy Reference Guides
Publication Date: 2009
6-page guide includes: Strategy for Solving Problems Effectively, Functions, Limits & Continuity, Derivatives, Integration, Differential Equations, Polar Coordinates & Graphics, Sequences & Series.
Calculus 1 by Gerald Harnett/ QuickStudy Reference Guides
Publication Date: 2003
6-page guide includes: Functions: Definitions, Numbers, New Functions, Elementary Algebraic Functions, Exponentials & Logarithms; Trigonometric Functions, Limits: Definitions, Limit Theorems, Limit Formulas; Continuity: Definitions, Theory; Derivatives: Definitions, Interpretations, Applications, Differentiation Rules, Derivative Formulas; Analysis: Logical Features of Functions, Trends and Global Features, Applications; Integration: Interpretations, Fundamental Theorem of Calculus,.
Calculus 2 by QuickStudy Reference Guides
Publication Date: 2016
6 page guide includes: Integration, Interpretation of Integrals, Improper Integrals, Integration Formulas and Techniques; Geometric Applications; Other Applications; Sequences; Series; Convergent Tests; Power Series; Numerical Integration; Parametric Representation of Curves; Polar Coordinates.
Elementary Statistics by Deborah Rumsey/ QuickStudy Reference Guides
ISBN: 9781423244189
Publication Date: 2020
6 page guide includes: Important Terms; Data Tables; Graphs for Single Variable: Pie Chart, Bar Graph, Histogram, Stem-Leaf Plot, Boxplot; Descriptive Statistics for Single Variable: Measures of Center, Quartiles & Percentiles, Five-Number Summary, Measures of Variation; Correlation & Regression: Correlation, Simple Linear Regression, Simple Linear Regression Analysis, Interpretation & Prediction, Line Fit; Probability; Random Variables: Probability Distribution, Normal Distribution, 68-95-99.7 Rule, Standard Normal Distribution, The t-Distribution, Binomial Distribution, Sampling Distribution: of the Sample Mean Sampling Distribution, of the Sample Proportion; Confidence Intervals; Alpha Level Hypothesis Test.
Probability by Ravi Behara/ Quickstudy Reference Guide
Publication Date: 2010
6-page guide includes: Probability Definitions, Methods of Assigning Probability, Probability Rules, Probability Distributions Definitions, Types of Probability Distributions, Binomial Probability Distribution, Relationship between Poisson & Exponential Distributions, Everyday Probability, Computing Probabilities Using Excel®, Probability & Expected Value, Decision Making with Probabilities, Probability in History.
Business Statistics: QuickStudy Reference Guide (6 pages) by BarCharts, Inc.
Publication Date: 2014
Packed with key definitions, concepts, and equations, our Business Statistics guide covers how to read and use data to make clear business decisions. This essential reference tool is written and organized for quick access to critical points allowing students and professionals to increase grades and sharpen skills of collecting, organizing, and summarizing data for business.
Finite Mathematics by Ken Yablonski/ QuickStudy Reference Guides
Publication Date: 2018
6 page guide includes: Statements of Logic; Combinatorics; Permutations: Combinations, Binomial Theorem, Pascal's Triangle, Multinomial Coefficients & Partitions; Probability: Simple Events, Odds, Fundamental Counting Principle, Compound Events, Independent Events, Dependent Events, Bayes' Theorem, Excepted Value; Matrices: Definition/Notation, Matrix Addition & Subtraction, Scalar Multiplication, Multiplying Two Matrices, Identity Matrix, Inverse Matrix; Linear Programming: Methodology, Graphing Used When Optimizing 2 Variables, Simplex Method Used When Optimizing > 2 Variables; Applications: Cost, Revenue & Profit, Break-Even Analysis, Supply & Demand, Linear Depreciation, Compound Interest, Annuities.
Nursing Math by QuickStudy Reference Guides
Publication Date: 2011
6-page guide includes: Basics, Measurement Conversions, Dosage Calculations, Body-related Calculations, Health Care Operating Indicators, Condition-Specific Calculations, Calculating Risk, Review.

Videos to help you learn

These websites provide free tutorials on different Math topics:

mathtv.com
Problem solving demonstrated by tutors.
Khan Academy
Short tutorials are presented within Math courses.

These are videos from the DACC Library's streaming video database Kanopy.

Algebra 1
These 36 accessible lectures make the concepts of first-year algebra - including variables, order of operations, and functions-easy to grasp. For anyone wanting to learn algebra from the beginning, or for anyone needing a thorough review, Professor James A. Sellers will prove to be an ideal tutor.
Geometry
36 lectures. Geometry's core skills of logic and reasoning are essential to success in school, work, and many other aspects of life.
Learning Statistics
24 lectures. The ability of statistics to extract insights from a random collection of facts is one of the most astonishing and useful feats of applied mathematics. This course surveys college-level statistics through dozens of exercises conducted through the statistical programming language R, a free, open-source computer language with millions of users worldwide.

eBooks to help you learn

Schaum's Outlines provide concise and clear explanations of basic concepts. They usually include step-by-step problem solving and problems for you to solve.

Mathematics

Ask Us!

Librarian

Math Help

Videos to help you learn

eBooks to help you learn