DACC Library: LGBT History: Find eBooks

eBooks

Search these library databases for eBooks about LGBTQ History:

CREDO Reference
Content: Offers full-text access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference books, including resources on art, history, law, medicine, psychology, and technology. Features images, sound files, animations, videos, dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations, atlases, and subject-specific titles.
Purpose: Supports research and learning across various disciplines with a comprehensive collection of authoritative reference materials and multimedia resources.
eBook Academic Collection
Content: Contains over 200,000 eBooks covering a wide range of subjects from the 1800s to the present, including adult, young adult, and children's fiction. Many books are available in languages other than English.
Purpose: Supports academic research and reading by providing a vast collection of eBooks across various subjects and genres, offering diverse language options and historical perspectives.

Featured eBooks

Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History, 1st Edition by Howard Chiang, Anjali Arondekar, Marc Epprecht, Jennifer Evans, Ross G. Forman, Hanadi Al-Samman, Emily Skidmore, Zeb Tortorici (editors)
Publication Date: 2019
Provides a global view of the history of LGBTQ, covering significant figures and events worldwide. Wide-ranging in scope, this encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, sociology and others.
Rainbow Warrior by Gilbert Baker; Dustin Lance Black (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2019
In 1978, Harvey Milk asked Gilbert Baker to create a unifying symbol for the growing gay rights movement, and on June 25 of that year, Baker's Rainbow Flag debuted at San Francisco's Gay Freedom Day Parade. Baker had no idea his creation would become an international emblem of liberation, forever cementing his pivotal role in helping to define the modern LGBTQ movement. Rainbow Warrior is Baker's passionate personal chronicle, from a repressive childhood in 1950s Kansas to a harrowing stint in the US Army, and finally his arrival in San Francisco, where he bloomed as both a visual artist and social justice activist.
Categorically Famous by Guy Davidson
Publication Date: 2019
The first sustained study of the relations between literary celebrity and queer sexuality, Categorically Famous looks at the careers of three celebrity writers--James Baldwin, Susan Sontag, and Gore Vidal--in relation to the gay and lesbian liberation movement of the 1960s. While none of these writers "came out" in our current sense, all contributed, through their public images and their writing, to a greater openness toward homosexuality that was an important precondition of liberation. Their fame was crucial, for instance, to the growing conception of homosexuals as an oppressed minority rather than as individuals with a psychological problem.
The First Amendment and LGBT Equality by Carlos A. Ball
Publication Date: 2017
Carlos A. Ball argues that as progressives fight the First Amendment claims of religious conservatives and other LGBT opponents, they should take care not to forget the crucial role the First Amendment played in the early decades of the movement, and not to erode the safeguards of liberty that allowed LGBT rights to exist in the first place.
Awakening by Nathaniel Frank
Publication Date: 2017
Some of the most divisive contests shaping the quest for marriage equality occurred not on the culture-war front lines but within the ranks of LGBTQ advocates. Nathaniel Frank tells the dramatic story of how an idea that once seemed unfathomable—and for many gays and lesbians undesirable—became a legal and moral right in just half a century.
Law and the Gay Rights Story by Walter Frank
Publication Date: 2014
For much of the 20th century, American gays and lesbians lived in fear that public exposure of their sexualities might cause them to be fired, blackmailed, or even arrested. Today, they are enjoying an unprecedented number of legal rights and protections. Clearly, the tides have shifted for gays and lesbians, but what caused this enormous sea change? In his gripping new book, Walter Frank offers an in-depth look at the court cases that were pivotal in establishing gay rights. But he also tells the story of those individuals who were willing to make waves by fighting for those rights, taking enormous personal risks at a time when the tide of public opinion was against them.
In a New Century by John D'Emilio
Publication Date: 2014
John D'Emilio reflects in this wide-ranging collection of essays upon the social, cultural, and political changes provoked by LGBT activism. He offers provocative questions and historical analyses: What can we learn from a life-long activist like Bayard Rustin, who questioned the wisdom of "identity politics"? Was Richard Nixon a "gay liberationist"? How can knowing local stories--like those of Chicago in the 1950s, 1960s, and 1970s--help build stronger communities and enrich traditions of activism? Might the focus on achieving actually be evidence of growing conservatism in LGBT communities?
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America by Marc Stein (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004
A three-volume survey of more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 alphabetically arranged entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others.

LGBT History

eBooks

Featured eBooks

Research Guide Feedback