DACC Library: Gender Studies: eBooks

eBooks

Tip: Most of our library databases contain eBook content.

Use these library eBook databases to find Gender Studies eBooks:

eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Content: Contains over 200,000 eBooks covering a wide range of subjects from the 1800s to the present, including adult, young adult, and children's fiction. Many books are available in languages other than English.
Purpose: Supports academic research and reading by providing a vast collection of eBooks across various subjects and genres, offering diverse language options and historical perspectives.
eBook Community College Collection
Content: Focuses on the academic and trade information needs of community colleges, offering thousands of eBooks from notable publishers, including Choice OAT (Open Access Text) titles.
Purpose: Supports community college education by providing access to a diverse range of eBooks, catering to both academic and vocational fields.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Content: A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research, featuring eBooks published within the last 15 years, including some juvenile nonfiction eBooks.
Purpose: Supports multidisciplinary research by providing access to a wide range of up-to-date eBooks, including reference materials and nonfiction resources for young readers.
CREDO Reference
Content: Offers full-text access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference books, including resources on art, history, law, medicine, psychology, and technology. Features images, sound files, animations, videos, dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations, atlases, and subject-specific titles.
Purpose: Supports research and learning across various disciplines with a comprehensive collection of authoritative reference materials and multimedia resources.
MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection
Content: Offers hundreds of eBooks focused primarily on liberal arts subjects, along with dozens of full-text juvenile nonfiction books.
Purpose: Provides a versatile collection of eBooks to support academic research, general education, and young readers’ learning.

Open Educational Resources (OERs) - free to download

Introduction to Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies by Miliann Kang, Donovan Lessard, and Laura Heston
Publication Date: 2017
This short (135 pages) textbook introduces key feminist concepts and analytical frameworks used in the interdisciplinary Women, Gender, Sexualities field. It unpacks the social construction of knowledge and categories of difference, processes and structures of power and inequality, with a focus on gendered labor in the global economy, and the historical development of feminist social movements. The book emphasizes feminist sociological approaches to analyzing structures of power, drawing heavily from empirical feminist research. Free to download.

Featured eBooks

Introduction to Transgender Studies by Ardel Haefele-Thomas
Publication Date: 2019
This is the first introductory textbook for trans, transgender, or *trans studies for first or second year college students as well as community college students. Using entertaining as well as informative features, this combination text/reader appeals specifically to a range of students who may know very little about the field. Teachers can utilize the book's step-by-step teaching tools.
Counselling Skills for Working with Gender Diversity and Identity by Michael Beattie and Penny Lenihan
Publication Date: 2018
Explores the diverse range of identities including masculinity, femininity, non-binary, gender dysphoria, trans and cisgender. It also addresses challenges which many clients experience in their daily lives - in the workplace, when coming out, when transitioning and in intimate relationships. The authors highlight the importance of education and reflection to enable good practice. They feature case studies, vignettes and reflective exercises throughout the text.
Gender and Austerity in Popular Culture by Helen Davies (Editor); Claire O'Callaghan (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
From the gritty landscapes of The Hunger Games and The Walking Dead, to the portrayal of the twenty-first-century precariat in Girls, this book explores how transatlantic visual culture has represented and reconstructed ideas of gender in times of financial crisis. Drawing on social, cultural and feminist theory, these writers explore how men and women experience austerity differently and illuminate the problematic ways in which economic policy can shape how gender is presented in popular culture. Written from the perspective that the popular is indeed political, this book considers film, literature, and television's ideological attitudes towards race, sex and disability. It also takes into account how mass culture has responded to austerity in the past and the present, whilst examining the impact that feminism will have in the future.
Feminism Is Queer by Mimi Marinucci
Publication Date: 2016
An introduction to the intimately related disciplines of gender and queer theory, and develops the innovative concept of queer feminism, which treats queer theory as being continuous with feminist theory. While there were significant conceptual tensions between second-wave feminism and traditional lesbian and gay studies, queer feminism offers a paradigm for understanding gender, sex and sexuality that overcomes this conflict in order to foster solidarity between those campaigning for women's rights and those for LGBTQ rights. This updated and expanded edition engages with the latest developments in feminism and queer theory, including the new forms of both feminism and 'antifeminism' which have developed within online communities, the growing prominence of trans experiences in popular media, and the relevancy of queer feminism to a new generation of feminist activists.
Trans Studies by Yolanda Martínez-San Miguel (Editor); Sarah Tobias (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016
Winner of the 2017 Sylvia Rivera Award in Transgender Studies from the Center for LGBTQ Studies (CLAGS). From Caitlyn Jenner to Laverne Cox, transgender people have rapidly gained public visibility, contesting many basic assumptions about what gender and embodiment mean. This book explores such challenges in depth, building on the insights of queer and feminist theory to raise provocative questions about the relationships among gender, sexuality, and accepted social norms. It is an interdisciplinary essay collection offering insights about how transgender activism and scholarship might transform scholarship and public policy.
Gender History in a Transnational Perspective by Oliver Janz (Editor); Daniel Schönpflug (Editor); Daniel Schönpflug (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014
Recent debates have used the concept of "transnational history" to broaden research on historical subjects that transcend national boundaries and encourage a shift away from official inter-state interactions to institutions, groups, and actors that have been obscured. This approach proves particularly fruitful for the dynamic field of global gender and women's history. By looking at the restless lives and work of women's activists in informal border-crossings, ephemeral NGOs, the lower management of established international organizations, and other global networks, this volume reflects the potential of a new perspective that allows for a more adequate analysis of transnational activities. By pointing out cultural hierarchies, the vicissitudes of translation and re-interpretation, and the ambiguity of intercultural exchange, this volume demonstrates the critical potential of transnational history. It allows us to see the limits of universalist and cosmopolitan claims so dear to many historical actors and historians.
Sex for Life by Laura Carpenter (Editor); John DeLamater (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012
Explores a wide variety of topics, including puberty, sexual initiation, coming out, sexual assault, marriage/life partnering, disability onset, immigration, divorce, menopause, and widowhood, always attending to the social locations - including gender, race, ethnicity, and social class - that shape, and are shaped by, sexuality. The empirical work collected in Sex for Life ultimately speaks to important public policy issues, such as sex education, aging societies, and the increasing politicization of scientific research.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender by Fedwa Malti-Douglas (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007
Provides broad theoretical essays that address issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; others examine issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation -- all through the lens of gender. With a truly global perspective, topics of individual entries include changing conceptions of the feminine, the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy and society and many more. In addition, the work discusses the influences of gender studies on various academic disciplines, examining how it has transformed and utilized methods and theories that have evolved.
A Companion to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Studies by George E. Haggerty (Editor); Molly McGarry (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007
Recognizing the multidisciplinary nature of the field, the editors gathered essays by an international team of scholars. Addresses the politics, economics, history, and cultural impact of sexuality. Engages the future of queer studies by asking what sexuality stands for, what work it does, and how it continues to structure discussions in various academic disciplines as well as contemporary politics.
A Companion to Gender Studies by Philomena Essed (Editor); David Theo Goldberg (Editor); Audrey Kobayashi (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004
Presents a unified and comprehensive vision of its field, and its new directions. Designed to demonstrate the rich interplay between gender and other markers of social position and (dis)privilege, such as race, class, ethnicity, and nationality. Organized thematically, each chapter gives consideration to the differing views on its topic, and also clarifies each contributor's own position. Features original contributions from an international panel of leading experts in the field.

Gender Studies

eBooks

Open Educational Resources (OERs) - free to download

Featured eBooks

Research Guide Feedback