Consumer Health

Includes information on more than 1,700 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.

This new translation of Scribners' acclaimed Human Diseases and Conditions provides Spanish researchers with a detailed resource for health and medical information on more than 295 diseases and conditions.

Gale presents four volumes of current, unbiased information on alternative and complementary medical practices. Covering all aspects of the subject through more than 800 entries, The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine identifies types of alternative medicine being practiced today, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda and osteopathy. For the practitioner or interested patient, there are current training requirements, listings of organizations, as well as descriptions of treatments. Information on recommended therapies for specific disorders and diseases and medicinal uses for plants and herbs are balanced by conclusions of studies on efficacy and analysis of current levels of acceptance by traditional scientists and doctors.

Alphabetically arranged encyclopedia of cancer types, side effects, diagnostic tests, procedures, and treatments. Contains photographic images, tables, and illustrations.

Explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies.

Provides coverage of numerous surgical procedures, medical tests and related topics, such as anesthetics, common lab test and procedures, medications and postoperative care. Entries for medical test and surgical include definition; purpose; demographic information; diagnosis/preparation; aftercare; risks; morbidity and mortality rates; alternatives; and more.

Features information on over 2,050 medical topics, including diseases/disorders and tests/treatments, in language accessible to adult laypersons.

Provides students, health care professionals, and general consumers interested in medical vocabulary with a comprehensive reference for medicine and health care delivery. More than 45,000 clear, concise definitions are included, covering diseases and conditions, treatments, and microorganisms . Hundreds of entries for commonly prescribed and over-the-counter medications are also featured. Informative illustrations and tables complement the text.