Hi! This is a research guide that will help you use Google Scholar.
When it comes to research, knowing which tools to use can make a big difference. Google is a general search engine that helps you find all sorts of information on the web, from blog posts to news articles, company websites, and more. It’s great for everyday questions or casual browsing.
Google Scholar, on the other hand, is specifically designed for academic research. It focuses on scholarly content, including journal articles, theses, books, and conference papers. These are often written by experts and reviewed by professionals in the field, making Google Scholar a reliable source for academic assignments and research.
In short, if you’re looking for credible, scholarly sources for class or teaching, Google Scholar is the way to go. But if you need quick facts or general information, Google is your go-to.
This guide was adapted with permission from Cape Fear Community College.
Cited by shows a list of works that cited this article.
The higher the number, the more important the article is in its discipline.
Related articles redirects to similar articles on the subject
Links in the far right column will show the full-text articles available at DACC.
Using the "Advanced Search" can help to narrow your results.
Go to Advanced Search through the button made of three horizontal lines (aka the "hamburger") in the upper left of the screen:
Enter your information on the advanced search screen:
According to Google, "Google Scholar aims to sort articles the way researchers do, weighing the full text of each article, the author, the publication in which the article appears, and how often the piece has been cited in other scholarly literature." However, keep in mind that the way Google indexes items is still unclear.
Call Us: 575-528-7260 or 575-527-7555
Text Us: 575-708-6489
Email us: library@dacc.nmsu.edu
or Make an Appointment with a Librarian
For easier and more effective searching set your preferences in Google Scholar to Doña Ana Community College.
You can select language preferences. E.g., limit to only articles in Spanish.
Under "Settings" you will be able to customize your search.
Change settings by clicking the "hamburger" icon then the settings icon 
at the top left of the Google Scholar search page.
Use "Collections" to de-select patents and "Results per page" to make changes to the length of your results lists.
Use "Languages" to select a language preference.
Most important, use "Library links" to search for and select articles from DACC databases.
DO NOT FORGET TO CLICK "SAVE".
Google Scholar is a helpful research tool for some tasks, but it does have its limitations. Listed below are some functions Google Scholar is helpful for and what it cannot do. When deciding to use Google Scholar or one of the databases from the DACC A-Z Database List consider the following:
Google Scholar is good for...
Google Scholar cannot...
Google Scholar returns a list of CITATIONS. Citations will link to full text ONLY if:
Not everything in Google Scholar is scholarly.
