An annotated bibliography is a helpful research tool that lists citations of books, articles and documents that are useful resources for a specific subject. It will also include a short commentary for each book, article, website. The commentary is a brief five to ten sentence paragraph summarizes the resource. There are two types of commentary.
As we go further, this guide will explain and demonstrate examples you can use for your academic writing.
Check with your instructor to find out which style is preferred for your class Modern Language Association (MLA) or American Psychological Association (APA). Generally English and humanities will do MLA, and sciences will do APA.
The library also has available for your convenience guides on citations. Please use them to help further your academic writing.
The following is an example for MLA 9th edition.
Woods, Emily C., et al. “Likelihood of COVID-19 Outbreaks in US Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) Detention Centers, 2020‒2021.” American Journal of Public Health, vol. 114, no. 9, Sept. 2024, pp. 909–12. EBSCOhost, https://doi.org/10.2105/AJPH.2024.307704.
American Journal of Public Health, Woods and other colleagues wanted to examine just how extensive the COVID outbreak was in immigration detention centers. The study ran from May 6, 2020 through June 21, 2021, from the COVID Prison project. During the research the study also gathered information on the state’s political views, as a contributing factor when collecting COVID-19 detainee case counts. The research concluded that while trying to maintain the overflooding of immigrants, not diligently testing incoming detainees along with overcrowding in facilities to where facilities did not follow the Center for Disease Control (CDC) guidelines of maintaining a distance of six-feet between individuals along with providing personal protection equipment resulted in the rise of COVID-19 outbreaks in detention facilities.
The following example is for APA 7th Edition
Woods, E. C., Andrews, J. R., & Goldhaber-Fiebert, J. D. (2024). Likelihood of COVID-19 Outbreaks in US Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) Detention Centers, 2020‒2021. American Journal of Public Health, 114(9), 909–912. https://doi.org/10.2105/AJPH.2024.307704
American Journal of Public Health, Woods and other colleagues wanted to examine just how extensive the COVID outbreak was in immigration detention centers. The study ran from May 6, 2020 through June 21, 2021, from the COVID Prison project. During the research the study also gathered information on the state’s political views, as a contributing factor when collecting COVID-19 detainee case counts. The research concluded that while trying to maintain the overflooding of immigrants, not diligently testing incoming detainees along with overcrowding in facilities to where facilities did not follow the Center for Disease Control (CDC) guidelines of maintaining a distance of six-feet between individuals along with providing personal protection equipment resulted in the rise of COVID-19 outbreaks in detention facilities.
Concise Guide to APA Style by
Concise Guide to APA Style, Seventh Edition is the official APA Style resource for students. Written for high school and undergraduate students, instructors, and writers learning APA Style, this easy-to-use pocket guide is adapted from the seventh edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. It provides complete guidance for new writers on effective, clear, and inclusive scholarly communication and the essentials of formatting papers and other course assignments. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. Full color throughout Content relevant to a range of majors and courses, including psychology, social work, criminal justice, communications, composition, education, business, engineering, and more New chapter focused on student papers Sample student title page, paper, and annotated bibliography Streamlined APA Style headings and in-text citations New chapter on writing style and grammar Chapters on punctuation, lists, italics, spelling, capitalization, abbreviations, numbers, and statistics Latest bias-free language guidelines More than 20 new sample tables and figures Comprehensive guidelines on citation to help writers credit their sources appropriately and avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism More than 100 new reference templates and examples, including traditional sources (e.g., journal articles, books, dissertations, and reports) plus many others (e.g., social media, webpages and websites, legal)
Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by
The newest official release of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition includes four different formats--spiral-bound and tabbed, paperback, hardcover, and eBook, all of which are in full color. It is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Easy navigation, with topics divided into numbered sections to help users quickly location the information they need. Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types, guidelines on citing course materials, and guidance on writing clearly, precisely, and concisely Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards (JARS) that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style Updated chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, racial and ethnic identity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality Updated chapter on essential style guidelines for scholarly writing, including punctuation, italics, capitalization, abbreviations, and numbers. More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, legal resources, and many other document types. Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options.
MLA Handbook by
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements?facts common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date?that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts?middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields?the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers ? New guidance on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, and abbreviations ? A new chapter on principles of inclusive language ? Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group projects ? Revised, easy-to-use, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format ? A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more ? Guidance on finding publication information in a variety of sources ? Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work ? Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes ? Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism ? Annotated bibliography examples ? Numbered sections keyed to a subject index for quick navigation ? Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th Edition by
The venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar--an indispensable reference informing the editorial canon with sound, definitive advice. Now in its 18th edition! More than 1.75 million copies sold! Much has happened in the years since the publication of the seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. The world has transformed, and the Manual has risen to meet the moment. The eighteenth edition of this classic guide for writers, editors, and publishers is the most extensive revision in two decades. Every chapter has been reexamined with diversity and accessibility in mind, and major changes include updated and expanded coverage of pronoun use and inclusive language, revised guidelines on capitalization, a broader range of examples, new coverage of Indigenous languages, and expanded advice on making publications accessible to people with disabilities. The Manual's traditional focus on nonfiction has been expanded to include fiction and other creative genres in coverage of topics such as punctuation and dialogue, and the needs of self-published authors receive wider attention. The citation chapters have been thoroughly reorganized for the benefit of new and experienced users alike, and the key concepts for editing mathematics have been integrated into the chapters where they will be most useful to generalists. Evolving technologies--from open-access publishing models to AI--are covered throughout. And naturally, there are some well-considered updates to familiar rules, including changes intended to align the Manual's recommendations more closely with real-world usage. As with every new edition, devotees of the Manual will find much to discover and ponder.
Mastering APA Style by
This user-friendly training guide includes groups of instructional exercises and practice tests on various aspects and features of the sixth edition of the Publication Manual, including electronic references and citations, grammar, headings, seriation, statistical and mathematical copy, italics, capitalization, numbers style, and table formatting.
