DACC Library: Anthropology and Archaeology: Find Books

eBooks

Tip: Most of our library databases contain eBook content.

Use these library eBook databases to find eBooks about Anthropology and Archaeology:

CREDO Reference
Content: Offers full-text access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference books, including resources on art, history, law, medicine, psychology, and technology. Features images, sound files, animations, videos, dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations, atlases, and subject-specific titles.
Purpose: Supports research and learning across various disciplines with a comprehensive collection of authoritative reference materials and multimedia resources.
eBook Academic Collection
Content: Contains over 200,000 eBooks covering a wide range of subjects from the 1800s to the present, including adult, young adult, and children's fiction. Many books are available in languages other than English.
Purpose: Supports academic research and reading by providing a vast collection of eBooks across various subjects and genres, offering diverse language options and historical perspectives.
Gale eBooks
Content: A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research, featuring eBooks published within the last 15 years, including some juvenile nonfiction eBooks.
Purpose: Supports multidisciplinary research by providing access to a wide range of up-to-date eBooks, including reference materials and nonfiction resources for young readers.

Open Educational Resources (OERs) - free to download

Physical Anthropology by Sarah Etheridge-Criswell
Publication Date: 2018 (last updated 2020)
From the College of the Canyons in California. Includes these chapters: What is Anthropology?; Darwin and the Diversity of Life; Cell Biology; Population Genetics; Human Variation; The Primates; Primate Intelligence and Conservation; Fossils and Early Primates; Bipedalism and Human Evolution; Genus Homo Early Members; Genus Homo and Homo sapiens; Homo sapiens, our History and our Future. Free to download.
Digging into Archaeology by Amanda Wolcott Paskey and AnnMarie Beasley Cisneros
Publication Date: 2020
Supported by the Academic Senate for California Community College’s Open Educational Resources Initiative. This book is intended for use in a variety of introductory archaeology settings, such as in lectures and lab courses. This text can complement an existing traditional text or completely replace a standard text. It can be used for its activities or as a study resource. Free to download.

Free eBooks from the American Anthropological Association

Perspectives: An Open Invitation to Cultural Anthropology by Nina Brown (Editor); Laura Tubelle de Gonzalez (Editor); Thomas McIlwraith (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018
A collection of chapters on the essential topics in cultural anthropology. This book is an edited volume with each chapter written by a different author. Each author has written from their experiences working as an anthropologist. Free to download.
Explorations: An Open Invitation To Biological Anthropology by Beth Shook (Editor); Katie Nelson (Editor); Kelsie Aguilera (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019
An introductory biological anthropology textbook. Chapters are written by experienced instructors and subject area specialists. Textbook addresses the question of what it means to be human by exploring the origins, evolution, and diversification of primates, especially that of our species, Homo sapiens. Free to download.

Featured eBooks

The SAGE Handbook of Cultural Anthropology by Lene Pedersen (Editor); Lisa Cliggett (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021
This handbook provides a rich overview of the discipline and has a future focus and uses international theories and examples throughout. Contains a rich body of chapters on all major topics relevant to the field, and also presenting a possible road map for the future of the field. Part 1: Foundations, Part 2: Focal Areas, Part 3: Urgent Issues, Part 4: Short Essays: Contemporary Critical Dynamics.
Anthropomorphic Images in Rock Art Paintings and Rock Carvings by Terence Meaden (Editor); Herman Bender (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020
In the realm of rock art, humanlike images appear widely through time and space from the Upper Palaeolithic to the Neolithic and Bronze Ages, and for some continents to later, yet still prehistoric, times. The artworks discussed in Anthropomorphic Images in this book range from paintings, engravings or scratchings on cave walls and rock shelters, images pecked into rocky surfaces or upon standing stones, and major sacred sites (among them Gobekli Tepe, Avebury, Stonehenge, and the Palaeolithic Chauvet Cave) in which the possibility exists of recovery of the meanings intended by the artists and sculptors.
Archaeology: What It Is, Where It Is, and How to Do It by Paul Wilkinson
Publication Date: 2020
Written as a practical introduction on the investigation of the material remains of the past which can be interpreted with contemporary historical and literary evidence. The book also explains where to find this evidence and what to do next. Many aspects of archaeological investigation are discussed, including aerial and ground survey, excavation and fieldwork, recording methods, soil sampling and small finds.
Sacred and Profane: Unusual Customs and Strange Rituals by G. S. Sachdeva
Publication Date: 2020
The battle between scientific temper and superstition has raged since ages. One may believe that unusual rituals and customs are extinct in the times of artificial intelligence and bots, but it is far from the truth as this book will prove.As bizarre as it might seem, in France one can marry a dead person, and in Africa a married woman can marry another married woman as a practical way of solving the social problem of old-age neglect. This book is a collection of unusual superstitions, rituals and customs that are practiced by ordinary people all around the world. It should be read to build awareness about these rituals and to know about the many shades of faith in this world we inhabit.Sacred and Profane is not a religious exposition or vindication of rituals; it aims to arouse human curiosity about such beliefs while shedding light on some important social issues.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by Alan Barnard (Editor); Jonathan Spencer (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010
Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology by Deborah M. Pearsall (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2008
Encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline. Featured are articles by leading authors that summarize archaeological knowledge at the beginning the 21st century, highlighting important sites and issues, and tracing the development of prehistoric cultures around the globe. Topics are arranged alphabetically and geographic overview articles are grouped by continent or region to allow easy reference.