Content: Offers full-text access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference books, including resources on art, history, law, medicine, psychology, and technology. Features images, sound files, animations, videos, dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations, atlases, and subject-specific titles.
Purpose: Supports research and learning across various disciplines with a comprehensive collection of authoritative reference materials and multimedia resources.
Content: Contains indexed and full-text education literature and resources, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
Purpose: Supports education research by providing access to a wide range of educational literature and resources, facilitating the discovery and exploration of valuable educational content.
Content: Covers a wide range of topics for general reference, business searches, and current event research, including news, health, and computers and technology.
Purpose: Supports diverse research needs by providing access to popular and frequently searched topics across multiple categories.
Content: Offers contextual information and diverse perspectives on hundreds of current social issues, including continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary sources, statistics, multimedia content, and vetted website links.
Purpose: Supports research, critical thinking, and informed discussion by providing balanced resources and multiple perspectives on controversial and relevant social topics.
Content: Offers in-depth coverage of today’s most pressing issues with full-length articles that include overviews, historical backgrounds, chronologies, pro/con debates, and additional research resources. Features graphics, photos, and sidebar highlights to complement the reports.
Purpose: Supports informed research and analysis by providing comprehensive and balanced perspectives on current events and critical topics.
Content: Offers resources that present multiple sides of controversial issues, including articles and essays designed to help students develop persuasive arguments, enhance analytical thinking, and better understand complex topics, with audio functionality for HTML full-text articles.
Purpose: Supports critical thinking and academic writing by providing balanced perspectives and tools for analyzing and debating controversial topics.
Content: Provides international perspectives on a wide range of global issues, topics, and current events, with multimedia resources including podcasts, videos, and interactive graphs.
Purpose: Supports research and learning by offering diverse, up-to-date insights into global issues, enhancing understanding through multimedia content.
Using power searches might give you great numbers of results that can be hard to go though. If you are looking for articles in a paricular subject area, you might want to see which databases are best for certain subjects by looking at our A-Z Database List and choosing your subject in the All Subjects dropdown menu.
Content: Searches all EBSCO databases simultaneously, providing comprehensive access to a wide range of resources.
Purpose: Streamlines research by allowing users to search across multiple EBSCO databases at once, enhancing efficiency and access to a broad spectrum of information.
Content: Allows users to search across all of DACC Library's Gale databases simultaneously, providing access to a wide range of multidisciplinary resources.
Purpose: Simplifies the research process by offering a comprehensive, one-stop search tool for finding diverse academic and general information from multiple databases.
Lateral reading is a process to fact check material on the web. A study conducted by the Stanford History Education Group tested the online evaluation skills of professional fact checkers vs PhD historians vs undergraduate students.
"The fact checkers [using lateral reading] proved to be fastest and most accurate [at evaluating websites], while historians and students were easily deceived by unreliable sources" (Spector).
The truth is more likely to be found in the network of links to (and commentaries about) the site than in the site itself. Lateral readers gain a better understanding as to whether to trust the facts and analysis presented by reading "across many connected sites instead of digging deep into the site at hand" (Caufield).
Works Cited
Caulfield, Mike. Web Literacy for Student Fact-Checkers, PressBooks, 2017, webliteracy.pressbooks.com. Accessed 08 Feb. 2024.
Spector, Carrie. "Stanford Scholars Observe 'Experts' to See How They Evaluate the Credibility of Information Online." Stanford Graduate School of Education, Stanford University, 24 Oct. 2017, ed.stanford.edu/news/stanford-scholars-observe-experts-see-how-they-evaluate-credibility-information-online. Accessed 08 Feb. 2024.
Adapted from Northwest Arkansas Community College
Verified
by
Web Literacy for Student Fact Checkers
A book for the student fact checker. Easy to navigate and easy to find useful information.
Below are some web resources to use for fact checking resources that you find on the web.
